Thread: Taking up writing

Credits
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Taking up writing

So I'm a horrible writer but I kinda want to get into writing just to put my thought down somewhere (no emo) and improve my writing as a byproduct. What are various writing exercises or brainstorming activities do you guys do to help with your writing, say during a writer's block or something?

Would it be better to actually write down my writing (pen to paper) or is it equally efficient to type it up? (I mean to keep the writing process going)

Credits
    Trophies
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

It depends what works for you. Writing is an incredibly personal thing and how you write best may be completely different to how someone else does so and it might take you a while to figure out which ways work best.

For instance I write most things on paper initially to get ideas down. These are usually haphazardly scattered everywhere with no organization. I'll try to go through all my stuff at least once a month to type stuff up and elaborate on ideas.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this method though. You should just try everything and see what you find most effective.

Credits
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

Look, it's going to sound awful but writing isn't something you "take up". You do it because you have something you just have to say.

It sounds like you do, so, great.

Honestly the best thing for you to do is read. Read a lot and read often, and, most importantly, read a lot of different things. When you write, don't write to impress anyone. You will fail. Write what you think needs to be written.

Credits
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

I'm going to suggest starting up one of those million, painful little blogs that nobody really reads.